Jack of all trades, master of none, but oftentimes better than master of one.

jhade
2 min readJun 22, 2024

--

They say, “Jack of all trades, master of none, but oftentimes better than master of one.” This quote has been on my mind a lot lately. I have so many hobbies and interests, but I’m not really the best at any of them. Sometimes, it makes me question myself and what I’m doing with my life.

I’m the kind of girl who loves to explore new things. I draw, write, try composing songs, play instruments, and the list goes on. There’s just something exciting about discovering new passions and diving into them, even if I don’t become an expert. At times, though, I feel a bit lost, unsure of who I am or what I really want to do.

But maybe that’s okay. Maybe this phase of self-discovery is exactly what I need right now. It can be overwhelming, not having all the answers, but it’s also kind of amazing. I’m learning so much about the world and about myself.

Sure, there are moments when I think I should focus on one thing and become really good at it. But then I remind myself that it’s not just about being the best. It’s about enjoying the journey and finding joy in learning new things.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, it’s okay to have a lot of interests and not be the best at everything. It’s all part of figuring out who I am and what I want. Embracing this process, with all its uncertainties, is part of the beauty of life. For now, that’s enough.

--

--